Agenda for 2013 ULC Annual Forum

Thursday, June 27

The Art Institute of Chicago's Modern Wing, 230 S. Columbus Drive

08:30 am Breakfast
09:00 am            Welcome: Ignite Learning 
  Susan Benton, President and CEO, Urban Libraries Council (ULC)
  Joan Prince, Chair, ULC Executive Board and
Vice Chancellor of Global Inclusion and Engagement, University of Wisconsin - Milwaukee
  Keynote Presentation
  Diana Rhoten, Chief Strategy Officer, Amplify, a division of The News Corporation
10:45 am Break
11:00 am Connected Learning: Libraries and Communities
  Felton Thomas, Jr., Director, Cleveland Public Library, OH
  Connie Yowell, Director of Education, MacArthur Foundation
  Katherine G. Hadley, Library Director, St. Paul Public Library, MN
  Buffy Hamilton, Library and Learning Strategist, Cleveland Public Library, OH
  Andrea Sáenz, First Deputy Commissioner, Chicago Public Library, IL
12:00 pm Lunch (McKinlock Court)
01:00 pm Shifting the Culture: Owning Learning in New Ways
  Vailey Oehlke, Director of Libraries, Multnomah County Library, OR
  Martha Lavey, Artistic Director, Steppenwolf Theatre Company
  Pamela Sandlian Smith, Director, Anythink Libraries/Rangeview Library District, CO
  Jane Werner, Executive Director, Children's Museum of Pittsburgh
02:45 pm Break
03:00 pm Keynote Presentation
  Matthew K. Poland, Chief Executive Officer, Hartford Public Library, CT
  Dr. Milton Chen, Senior Fellow & Executive Director, Emeritus, George Lucas Educational Foundation
04:30 pm Reception (McKinlock Court)
  Co-Sponsored with Chicago Public Library and Public Library Association
06:00 pm Adjourn

Friday, June 28

Chicago Marriott Downtown Magnificent Mile, 540 N. Michigan Avenue

08:30 am            Welcome and Member Breakfast                                                                                          
  Joan Prince, Chair, ULC Executive Board
  Melanie Huggins, Vice-Chair/Chair-Elect, ULC Executive Board
  ULC State of the Union
  Election of 2013-2014 ULC Executive Board
  2013 Top Innovators
  2013 Urban Player Award
  2013 Joey Rodger Leadership Award
09:30 am It Takes a Village: Community Approaches to Learning
  Brian A. Bannon, Commissioner, Chicago Public Library
  Susan Hildreth, Director, Institute of Museum and Library Services
  Gary Huggins, Chief Executive Officer, National Summer Learning Association
  Ralph Smith, Senior Vice President, Annie E. Casey Foundation
10:45 am Ignite Learning: Idea Labs
  Session 1 (10:30 am - 11:10 am)
  Session 2 (11:15 am - 11:55 am)
12:00 pm Annual Forum Wrap-Up and Lunch (Ballroom - 4th Floor)
01:30 pm Library Member Group Discussions (10th Floor)
  Library Directors Group
  Library Deputy Directors Group
  Library Development Directors Group (10:30 am-3:30 pm / Sheffield Rm.4th Floor)
  Library Trustees Group
03:30 pm Adjourn